By Craig Justesen, Nominations and Elections Chair

A big congratulations goes out to the new 2023/24 Chapter 1 Board Officers and recipients of this year’s Chapter 1 awards. For the first time in several years, the elections were held in person during a well-attended luncheon on March 10th at Tamayo’s Restaurant in Commerce.  The elections were successful and even included a nomination from the floor for PDC Chair.  The results of the elections are as follows:

President: Alexandra Nguyen-Rivera, SR/WA, R/W-NAC

International Voting Director 1 Year: Alexandra Nguyen-Rivera, SR/WA, R/W-NAC

President Elect: Janelle Parra, SR/WA, R/W-AMC

International Voting Director 2 Year: Janelle Parra, SR/WA, R/W-AMC

Treasurer: Julie Del Rivo

Secretary: Neidy Pinuelas, SR/WA, R/W-RA, R/W-URAC

PDC Chair: Cheryl DeMucci, SR/WA

Once the elections were finalized current Chapter 1 President April Harvey swore in the new Board Officers.  The Chapter looks forward to the leadership of the new Board Officers.

During the luncheon the Nominations and Elections Committee was excited to recognize in person the following Chapter 1 award recipients:

Past President: April Harvey, SR/WA

Professional of the Year: Alana Edwards and Neidy Pinuelas SR/WA, R/W-RA, R/W-URAC

Young Professional of the Year: Diana Kwan, SR/WA-GN

Large Employer of the Year: Los Angeles Department of Water and Power

Small Employer of the Year: CBRE – Encino

A surprise to many at the luncheon was the Region 1 Young Professional of the Year award being presented to Noel Vest.  The Region 1 Chair, Ray Mehler, SR/WA, R/W-RAC, provided details of Noel’s impressive nomination and the stiff competition, congratulations Noel.

Region 1 Young Professional of the Year: Noel Vest

The luncheon closed out with Membership Chair, Diane Dominguez, SR/WA, holding a raffle where 3 lucky winners enjoyed various raffle prizes.

Finally, a big thank you goes out to the Nominations and Elections Committee: Bill Larsen, Ann Kulikoff, Alan Edwards, Julie Del Rivo, and Janelle Para for their efforts in making the elections, awards, and luncheon a huge success!

Congratulations all and thank you to those who attended the luncheon.